Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help    
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Salad / salsa

Battling the MSG Myth » Archive » Sharing Ideas, Suggestions, and Information » Salad / salsa « Previous Next »

valerie
Posted on Sunday, January 14, 2001 - 4:18 pm:   Delete PostPrint Post   Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Has anyone had any problems with salsa? Since I cannot tolerate salad dressing, I typically put salsa on my salads (it's delicious!) I am a college student and use the salsa at the salad bar in the dining hall so I don't know what is in it. I have gotten mild reactions when I eat the salad and am trying ot determine if it is the salsa or something else.
Also, does anyone have any other ideas for how to top a salad. I love salad and miss dressing! I know oil and vinegar is usually safe but I was wondering if anyone else had any other ideas. Thanks, Valerie
Deb A.
Posted on Sunday, January 14, 2001 - 8:17 pm:   Delete PostPrint Post   Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I blend an avocado with fresh lemon juice and olive oil. I add dry dill and garlic granules and salt and pepper to taste. I sometimes add a pinch of cayenne and sugar, and water it down if it's too thick.
It's sort of a green goddess type salad dressing. I also like to add dry mustard to my typical lemon, lime, orange or tangerine/olive oil vinaigrette (and some sugar or honey if too tart). If you use the sweeter citrus, sugar is unnecessary. Most commercial salsas contain MSG in various amounts. I do fine with the New Organics brand salad dressing. Albertsons carries it. I avoid the blue cheese one, though. They make a prepared mustard, too.
ruth
Posted on Monday, January 15, 2001 - 8:48 am:   Delete PostPrint Post   Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

Valerie,