Topics Topics Edit Profile Profile Help/Instructions Help    
Search Last 1|3|7 Days Search Search Tree View Tree View  

Going on vacation

Battling the MSG Myth » Archive » Sharing Ideas, Suggestions, and Information » Going on vacation « Previous Next »

Valerie
Posted on Saturday, March 03, 2001 - 8:21 pm:   Delete PostPrint Post   Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

I am a college student and I am going to Panama City Beach for spring break next week. I am going for a conference that is sponsored by the campus organization Campus Crusade for Christ. There are about 50 students going and we are taking busses down there so I won't have a car. We are staying for a week and the hotel we are staying at has kitchens in the room. I am MSG sensitive and have terrible reactions after eating out, especially fast food which is probably what most people are going to be eating. I am looking for suggestions of some foods that I can take with me to eat during the week. I don't know if there's going to be a grocery store within walking distance and I have a thirteen hour bus ride so I cant really bring anything that needs refrigeration. I am really excited about this trip and I don't want to spend the week stuck in my hotel room! Any suggestions you could give me would be great. Thanks!
Anon
Posted on Sunday, March 04, 2001 - 10:47 am:   Delete PostPrint Post   Ban Poster IP (Moderator/Admin only)

For the drive rice cakes and nut butters (that means a jar however) will hold you between stops. For me raisins, seeds and nuts (can make yourself a granola mix)and a few baggies of rolled oats with small rice milk cartons help and aren't too obvious and make a decent breakfast in the room before breakfast out, because that'll be basically impossible at a fast food place. For lunch and dinner I have had good luck with salad bars at Wendy's fast foods and some pizza places, but it's always a gamble.